Just peachy!

Posted on
Today is August 8, and so far this month has proved to be alarmingly hot. I am training for a marathon, so yesterday I had to run 13 miles in this crazy heat, which pretty much did me in for the rest of the day. I was dizzy and shaky and nauseous for about four hours after the run and still didn’t feel like myself by bedtime. The fact that I opted to do last weekend’s 11 miles on a treadmill doesn’t seem quite so crazy anymore.

August is National Peach Month, and while an 85 degree, 80 % humidity, two hour run is not so peachy; this, one of my very favorite summer recipes, is…
 Stuffed Tomatoes with Peaches, Corn, Cucumbers and Basil

Here are your ingredients

Slice off tops of tomatoes (about 1/2 inch). Scoop out the seeds and ribs, and coarsely chop. Stir together chopped tomatoes, peaches, cucumbers, corn, oil, 1 tablespoon lime juice, salt, and pepper. Let stand for 15 minutes. Taste and adjust for acidity, adding up to 1 tablespoon more lime juice. Stir in basil.

Season inside of tomato shells with salt and pepper. Fill tomatoes with tomato mixture, garnish with basil sprigs and serve.

This recipe is from the July 2007 issue of Martha Stewart Living.

All this peach talk reminds me of the trips my family took every summer from North Carolina to visit relatives first in Mississippi, then in Texas, then back to Mississippi and usually finishing with a dip down to Florida to spend some time in Disney World before returning home. We passed South Carolina’s giant peach water tower every summer during these trips, so when I hear national peach month, this is the picture in my head.

About lizaroney

I love the Lord my savior, I love my family, I love all things culinary, I love long early morning runs and I love trying to paint or write or do something creative. Life is not always easy, but I know without a doubt: “I can do all Things through Christ who strengthens me." Philippians 4:13

Leave a comment